The Behavioral Psychology of Woodpeckers

Pull_hair

We both have deadlines

he and me and

we’re not so different really

except he bangs his head against his desk

like a ravenous djinn gone mad inside

his emerald coated bottle of a cubicle

and he does this for three minutes

and then a small hole forms

just an eggshell patina break

and he uses his teeth to snag

some object in it…

Paper!

A wadded, rolled up, already stapled and collated

report for the boss

and I just stare at him and then

I stare at my monitor as he

pulls it ex nihilo from the mini-fissure

in his desk.
Everyone skips to lunch and

I’m alone and behind and

worried and

so I bang my head

like he did

really, really hard

but can’t make three minutes worth

and then I wake up on a nightly vacuumed carpet

and see a circle of eyes peering down

and feel crimson running from my forehead

and I think

just like a Robin

that a Woodpecker

is just a crazy bird.

Leave a Reply

